AASLH Council Update and 2024 Election

AASLH Members:

The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) Council sets policy and provides leadership for the association, is responsible for strategic planning, and represents AASLH members and the field at large. Please see an update below on a change to Council leadership and then make sure to vote in this year’s election.

Council Leadership Update
At the February Council meeting, Chair Burt Logan informed Council that he was resigning at the end of the meeting due to family need. Logan will take a leave of absence until the AASLH Annual Conference in Mobile, Alabama this coming September—when officer, Council, and committee terms end—and will then become Immediate Past Chair.

Under the AASLH Bylaws, the Vice Chair becomes Chair when the Chairperson is no longer able to serve. Christy Coleman is now Chair of Council. The new Chair recommends an Interim Vice Chair for Council to elect until a new Vice Chair can be nominated by the Leadership Nominating Committee and voted on by members. Coleman recommended Council member Veronica Gallardo was recommended and approved by Council and will serve as Interim Chair until the 2024 AASLH Annual Conference.

Your Vote Matters: Participate in the 2024 Election
AASLH members elect the Council and Leadership Nominating Committee. The 2024 Council election opens today and runs through July 10. We encourage you to participate in the election and cast your vote!

This year, there are elections for Council officers, Council members, and the Leadership Nominating Committee.

Council Vice Chair Candidate

  • Erin Carlson Mast, Lincoln Presidential Foundation (Springfield, Illinois)

Council Treasurer Candidate

  • Christie Weininger, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museums (Fremont, Ohio)

Council Secretary Candidate

  • Scott Wands, Connecticut Humanities (Middletown, Connecticut)

Council Candidates (Four open seats)

  • Jamie Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture (Richmond, Virginia)
  • Dr. Ashley Jordan, African American Museum in Philadelphia (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • James Pepper Henry, Kaw Nation and Kanza Heritage Society (Kaw City, Oklahoma)
  • Chieko Phillips, 4Culture (Seattle, Washington)

Leadership Nominating Committee Candidates (Three open seats)

  • Heather Bruegl, The Henry Ford Museum of American Innovation (Dearborn, Michigan)
  • Jessica Cyders, Southeast Ohio History Center (Athens, Ohio)
  • Emily Johnson, Utah Division of Arts and Museums (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Kenny Libben, Cleo Redd Fisher Museum (Loudonville, Ohio)
  • Ryan Spencer, Conner Prairie (Fishers, Indiana)
  • Terri L. White, Charlotte Museum of History (Charlotte, North Carolina)

In order to find your Membership ID, please follow these steps:

  1. Go to aaslh.org and click the login button in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Login using your email and password.
  3. Click on the profile icon in the top right corner of the screen, then select “My Profile”
  4. Click the “Membership” tab
  5. Click on the “American Association for State and Local History” link
  6. You will see your Membership ID listed underneath “Membership Info”

For voting assistance:

  • Use the help feature within the platform
  • Call us at 615-320-3203