The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) proudly announces that Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko and Janet Gallimore will receive the Award of Distinction on September 8 at the association’s Annual Conference in Boise, Idaho.

Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko passed away in January 2023, but her impact on the history field will be long-lasting. She used her power to change lives, inspire movements, and challenge the status quo for the better. She worked in museums and with professional associations, including AASLH, for more than twenty years. Since 2001, she has led institutional change as the director of museums such as the Abbe Museum and Illinois State Museum. She also was part of the vanguard of systemic change across the field: raising funds and creating tools for small museums and historic sites; working tirelessly on decolonization efforts; and sharing knowledge and experience through board service, talks in national settings, and transformative publications she authored or edited.

Janet Gallimore is an inspirational leader for the Idaho State Historical Society, where she directs a dynamic state agency comprised of the Idaho State Museum, Idaho State Archives and State Records Center, State Historic Preservation Office, and Historic Sites program. She championed the History Relevance initiative, advancing history as essential and raising the profile of history in national dialogue. Across her career, her work demonstrates a commitment to inclusive history, reflected currently and distinctly in the visitor experience and co-curated exhibitions at the Idaho State Museum. Her role as a champion of history at the county, state, and national levels has impacted countless public history professionals around the country.

The Leadership in History Awards Program was initiated in 1945 to build standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history. The Award of Distinction is presented by the AASLH Council infrequently in recognition of long and distinguished service and contributions on the part of a person working in state and local history who is recognized nationally as a leader in the profession. An individual must have demonstrated the highest standards of performance and professional ethics.

“Historical organizations everywhere are made better by visionaries like this year’s Award of Distinction recipients,” said John Dichtl, AASLH President and CEO. “Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko and Jan Gallimore repeatedly looked beyond the horizon, rallied their peers, created new approaches, and were generous in sharing what they learned about history and museums. It is a pleasure to see each of them receiving AASLH’s highest honor.”

The 2023 awards will be presented at the Boise Centre on Friday, September 8, as part of the AASLH Annual Conference in Boise. Registration for the Annual Conference is open.