We are proud to announce the slate of candidates for four spots on the AASLH Council, three Council officers, and three spots on our Leadership Nominating Committee.  The Council sets policy and provides leadership for the Association, is responsible for strategic planning, and represents AASLH members and the field at large. The Leadership Nominating Committee works with staff and the AASLH Council to identify AASLH’s and the field’s leadership and points direction for a slate of officers, Council members, and LNC members.

The election will open June 10 and close on July 10, and members will receive notice of how and when to vote by email.

Council Officers

  • Vice Chair: Burt Logan, Ohio History Connection, Columbus, OH
  • Treasurer: Rebekah Beaulieu, Florence Griswold Museum, Old Lyme, CT
  • Secretary: Dina Bailey, Mountain Top Vision, Atlanta, GA


Candidates  (4 open seats)

  • Michelle Banks, African American Firefighter Museum, Los Angeles, CA
  • Jeff Harris, Magoffin Home State Historic Site, El Paso, TX
  • Gina Vergara-Bautista, Hawaii State Archives, Honolulu, HI
  • Sarah Zenaida Gould, Museo del Westside, San Antonio, TX


Leadership Nominating Committee Candidates (3 open seats)

  • Kevin Cabrera, College Park Aviation Museum, College Park, MD
  • Mark Heppner, Ford House, Grosse Pointe Shores, MI
  • Jacklyn Lacey, American Museum of Natural History, New York, NY
  • Gailyn Lehuanani Bopp, Brigham Young University-Hawaii, Laie, HI
  • Patrick Moore, New Mexico Historic Sites, Santa Fe, NM
  • Cristin Waterbury, Dubuque County Historical Society/National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium, Dubuque, IA